Juvederm Review

Are you curious about how Juvederm filler works?

Juvederm is an injectable that’s supposed to fill in fine lines and help fight the physical signs of aging. Allergan is behind Juvederm. It looks like the business opened in 1948 – that’s more than 50 years ago. You have to visit a doctor to receive injections.

What is Juvederm?

Juvederm filler is a prescription gel that’s injected near wrinkles and fine lines. It’s only approved for patients over 21 years of age. Only a medical professional can perform the procedure. Results are supposed to last up to one year, though there are reports it lasts much less time.

Quick Facts on Juvederm

  • Treatments can cost up to $750 per injection.
  • Juvederm cost increases with the thicker version.
  • Results only lasted days in some patients.
  • Bruising was a side effect reported by some.
  • There is no guarantee with Juvederm.

What’s the Skincare Editor’s Take?

“The FDA approved the Juvederm filler treatment. So, there is some proof it works and is safe,” says our Skincare Editor. “The trouble I have is with the price and reports that it didn’t last very long.”

Here’s What People Are Saying

Many of the issues we found dealt with side effects. We were surprised to not find complaints about Juvederm cost. According to some happy patients:

  • “I get tons of compliments about how young I look for my age.”
  • “It has been seven months and can still visibly notice the results.”

Those that weren’t so thrilled with the results said:

  • “I am left with bruises all over my face. It was very painful too.”
  • “Juvederm migrated down my face! Would never use either again.”

Side effects appeared to be another problem, but only for some.

  • “I have used Juvederm and it always gives me the darkest bruising.”
  • “About 30 minutes after, the pain was so bad. Felt like it was up in the checks and down through my chin. Very painful for hours.”

If you look at the other side of the coin, you get:

  • “I have to put ice on them as soon as I get home to avoid bruising for a long time.”
  • “Initially I saw some lumping but it eventually went away.”

Is Now the Time to Try Out Juvederm?

Well, there’s little doubt that this treatment, which is approved by the FDA, is effective for some. However, we have reservations because the price is far too high for some patients and there are side effects to worry about. Unfortunately, there are also reports that it didn’t work for everyone.

What Do We Like Better Than Juvederm?

Our top pick for 2016 is the anti-aging solution BioGeniste. It’s made with clinically tested ingredients and there are some amazing testimonials from users who’ve seen fantastic results.

Click here to learn more about BioGeniste.

31 thoughts on “Juvederm Review”

  1. I had Juviderm done on a deep crease that developed on my face over a year ago. It is GONE! The doctor told me that it’s possible that it sort of calcified and caused the crease or scar to completely disappear. It’s amazing. I have also had my lips done and it’s a really nice improvement. My lips are by nature rather thin and I’ve only had a couple of procedures done over the past 2 years and they look nice. I recommend it. It’s NOT completely painless, but the stinging from the shot is just for a short period of time… 5 to 10 minutes or so, and you’re done. The doctor will numb you up, like at the dentist, if you request it.

  2. I have had several injections of Juvederm Ultra over the last year. I have had no problems with injection site swelling or bruising. My problem after I leave the spa, I look great for 3-4 weeks, but by 5the 6th week my wrinkles are back(only not hardly as deep). I am so depressed about this. I had a stroke 5 years ago and brain surgery and needed something to make me feel better about myself. Why does product that is supposedto last up to a year, not last on me ? Everyone else that gets it at this spa looks good. Help me Please.

    1. Perhaps you should get the Juvederm injections at a doctor’s office who has had lots of experience injecting it. I would stay away from “spas” for important, costly procedures like this. If you did go to a reputable doctor for your injections, I would research others in your area so you could get a more long lasting effect for your money!

      1. I had it done about 4 months ago and I can see the lines are starting to come back. I went to the professional health care office. my question is have anybody ever heard excessive sweating can cause gel to dissolve faster?

  3. Have anybody ever heard excessive sweating can cause gel to dissolve faster? I had it done 4 months ago and I can start to see lines coming back…

  4. I was told that a juvederm injection could be done to alleviate veins under my eyes. I don’t see anything about this on your site. Is this possible. I was told an injection would be done on either side of my nose next to the eye area.

  5. I had Juvederm infected in nasal folds and lips. About 30 minutes afer, the pain was so bad. Felt like it was up in the checks and down through
    my chin. Very painful for hours. I have had Restylane injection since 2006 and never had this type of pain after the injectons. Is this common? And whatwould cause so much Pain? Thank you

    1. Had it done a month ago and it is still painful at injection site an in nose. I got a bad cold, like flu a week after and went on antibiotics. I’m off the meds but still have nasal running. Dr. said it would go away in time, but i’m worried because its still painful even inside my nose. Have you ever heard of anything like this?

  6. I had an injection of juviderm about 4 months ago and it still looks beautiful. I am 66 yrs of and I can’t wait to have it done again. Not yet I don’t need it

    1. Hi, I would like to know where you had the Juvederm. I was told due to my age I wasn’t a good candiate and that surgery would be a better option.

    2. I’m 53 yrs old and considering rejuvederm injections for deep folds around the mouth & fill out my very thin lips. I scheduled the procedure 2 months ago but cancelled. I’m looking for a very reputable Dr.from someone that’s had excellent results.

      1. I had a few laugh lines done about 1 year ago i’m starting to see a few small lines return. time to go back…loved my results….I went to Marina plastic surgery…. In California.

  7. I am delighted with the results of juvederm. I had it injected around my mouth towards my chin where I was getting saggy wrinkling turning into jowls and now that area is so much smoother and plumper. The discomfort from the injections were minimal and there was no down time. I had some slight bruising, but so minor that no one really noticed. I had my first injection one month ago, and I went back last week for two more injections. Now I am curious to see how long these lovely results last.

  8. I had restylane under my eyes 5 years ago and it is still there.It was put in th wrong place on one side and looks like there is something under my skin. I also got it in my lips. She put it only in the center of my lips and it totally changed the shape of my mouth. It is still there. It has caused the inside of my top lip to bulge out. I don’t know about Juvederm, but restylane has been quite permanent for me and I don’t like ther results but I’m stuck with them.

  9. Iam 55 yrs old and considering juvederm for laugh lines. Is it safe?
    What are the side effects? Wouldn’t a facelift be better?

    1. I am 50 & just had juvederm injected in my lips & in a little ‘pooch’ I had on one side of my mouth. I dont have jowls yet. The juvederm is mixed w an anesthetic, so it only hurts initially . The anesthetic kicks right in. I like the look & it makes me look years younger. I also had botox on the center of my forehead. The botox injections do hurt. Although botox removes lines, it lowered my brow somewhat, which I did not want. It looks Ok, but feels wierd. I would not hesitate to do the Juvederm again. It will fill out your laugh lines. I would do your lips to while your at it…unless they’re already full.

  10. I had juverderm about two weeks ago in my bottom and top lips and it has completly gone. They were swelled up abit the first few days and then settled and they looked great. Then day by day they have been getting thinner and are now back to the same size as they were before i had filler. I’m really gutted as they are so expensive and i can’t afford any more. Has this happened to anyone else?

    1. I Loved the results after getting my lips done with juvederm, but after a week or two it`s gone. “they” say its suppose to last up to 1 yr.? Yet I had to get mine done 5 times in 1 yr. Anywhere else i was injected the results kept about 6 months, i wouldnt recommend it as to lasting anymore then 2 months if your thinking about plumping the lips! Some people i mentioned it to told me it didnt stay long on them either. They need to come up with something better thats gonna actually last or lower the price along with the false B.S. of the lasting results. cause i have yet to see someone who had plumped the lips and it actually lasted 12 plus months!

  11. A week ago, I got juvederm injected on the parenthesis around the mouth and there was no difference from the before and after. I would not recommend this product on anyone. It was expensive $500 and disappointing.

  12. I received juvederm (2 syringes) in my lips 3 weeks ago and now it is barely there? it’s not noticeable at all! I feel like I wasted almost $800 for something temporary! I don’t get it and I am so dissapointed! I am going to call the Dr and get his opinion. I exercise almost everyday and i’m wondering if my body is metabolizing everything super fast? I am so, so dissapointed=(

    1. I had a juvederm injection 10 days ago. After the injection everything was ok. During these 10 days my smile line comes back. Now my smile line is just around 10% better than before injection. Is it right? I just injected one vial (0ne C.C). But it was good at that time. I don’t think it takes time 6-9 months as my doctor claimed. What should I do?

  13. This product unfortunately has lasted over 3 and a half years around the corners of my mouth where the doctor tried to “widen” my smile. I never asked for it, it was my first time and last. She made me look like the joker and now I’m left with hanging jowels around the corners of my mouth because this stuff does not go away… even with trying to dissolve it twice. If you’re getting it, be wary, a mistake could last forever.

    1. jen .. same thing happened to me .. he put it up on top of my cheekbone .. only went in for mouth lines for filler .. never needed the cheekbone in the slightest .. i looked great .. and i think he saw a quick “advertisement” for himself .. finally tracked the clinic down in Dublin today Beacon Medical Group .. He claimed that it impossible for it to still be there .. 1 in a million .. but Yet was more than willing to inject hyluronadase to remove it .. Once the name of the product was confirmed I left the office. Will try someone else to remove.

  14. Was not worth the $$ spent on this dermal filler Had 4 injections for the smile lines. Was told to inject in the cheeks to fill out the smile lines. Before and after pictures looked exactly the same. No change to my smile lines at all. This was a total waste of money. I had Juvederm Voluma and Juvederm Plus injected.

  15. I have had Juvederm for several years and I really like it. For me I had it in January and just had it again first of July and I have been happy with the results. There is some bruising and then it goes away and I am 71 and will keep getting it. I have it done at a top Dermatologist and I think it is important to go to a really good doctor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.